The Mother Project

Today I’m going to include you all in something a little bit more personal than usual. It IS still about writing though, haha. (When isn’t it?) I want to tell you about a project that came into fruition the end of November 2016. I would like to say I’m calling it something a lot more pithy and creative than “The Mother Project” but I haven’t quite gotten that far yet. And really, it is about my mom. But also, hopefully, something for me too that I can graft into my routine-less life. Win-win.

Here’s the gist:

–Every week ( or every other week) I will be sending my mother a letter in the mail. YES, snail mail. YES, people still do that! (And no I’m not old :P) In this envelope I will include:

1) a hand-made card (I LOVVEEEEEE making cards)

2) $25 cash (to put aside for my kids’ college funds)

3) an update about my week, maybe some pictures AND–

4) a short story. Or a chapter to a story

Easy peasy right? Sounds straight-forward. My aim is to do my Blog articles on Mondays and then on Thursdays, be able to post my “Mother Story” as well. Twice the enjoyment from bakaloveblog!

*NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?????????????????????????????????” <— my brain screaming.

Porquoi Jess? WHY is your brain throwing a tantrum?

Weeellllllll…………if you’ve been following me at all and reading my blog, you’d know that I am an aimless wanderer of a human being in all aspects of my life. I abhor routine. BUT my mother is the Matron of routine and logic. She’ll make sure I send those letters on time every week, which is a large part of why I chose her for this project. She’ll keep my sorry butt in line as good as any military General. But I’m hoping to bring some joy into my mom’s life at the same time. I get to practice writing, she gets updates on her daughter and granddaughters and she finally gets to read some of what I write.

Really, it’s a huge undertaking for me. HUGE. NO ONE reads what I write. Ever. Fear of failure and all that….yeah. Crippling. But if I can’t reply on my bookish mama to give me an honest opinion of my writing, I don’t know who will.

The reason this Project came into fruition is because I can’t talk to my mom much. She’s so busy working weird hours at her crappy job that we can’t talk as much as we used to. My mom is and always will be my best friend. We have a very healthy, loving relationship but she misses so much of our lives and it kills her. It’s the worst it’s ever been. We both need it.

Now I know it won’t be easy. There will be weeks I miss sending a letter or simply have nothing to report or am a cranky ol’ brat who hates routine and refuses to write. I may do up a collection of flash fiction to have on hand in case this does happen. The point is to send out letters and practice writing. If I stumble, I stumble. Get back up and double up.

DON’T QUIT. DON’T QUIT. DON’T QUIT. DON’T QUIT. DON’T QUIT. DON’T QUIT.

Who knows, maybe all this will end up being a book someday šŸ˜‰ Anything can happen right?

Author: Jessica Jordan

The adventures of one woman as she journeys to make it big in the Publishing World. With charming clumsiness she takes her first steps forward to travel this twisty-wisty world of blogging. Posts will be random, humorous, honest and emotional. She is never organized. Be warned!

5 thoughts on “The Mother Project”

Leave a Reply

