Never do I ever!

There’s a trend that I’ve become aware of again in my routine. There’s ALWAYS a trend, right? I’m pretty sure everyone has one too, and if you read along, I’m SURE you’ll nod with understanding. This one has to do with–SURPRISE!!– writing. And reading, by extension. And to even some lesser extension, music. (But you can put whatever verb you need to in there. I’m sure it’ll fit perfectly.) What do these all have in common? Something every writer loves and hates.

Can you guess?

Yep. It’s WORDS.

Experts say that a writer must write every day to practice and get better, just as a painter must paint and a photographer must take pictures, etc, blah blah blah, whatever. For about, three-quarters of a year, I’ll agree with this advice. I will gamely sit down with a note-book or a book book with my music going in the background, and I’ll slip into the wonderful world of words. Words! Words, words, words all day, floating through my head, lined up like soldiers in front of my eyes, and flowing from my fingertips. I make them dance for me with Papermate blue ink. I make the songs repeat themselves over and over again. I read the subtitles on the screen and immerse myself in words all day long. This is what I want to do. This is what I signed up for long ago in grade school. This is my world.

Until it isn’t.

SCREEEECCCCCHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! 

Say what? Hold it right there lady! This is your JOB! This is your DREAM! You can’t just QUIT.

At which point I cue music and open my mouth to sing this:

“Words! Words! Words! I’m so sick of words!
I get words all day through;
First from him, now from you!
Is that all you blighters can do?

Yeah it’s true. My alter ego is Eliza Doolittle about every quarter of the year. It’s only for a few weeks but it is an absolute trend. I can’t change it even if I wanted to. My brain simply quits and I banish music, books and writing from my world. Just like thatsnaps!– like a rope breaking and plummeting me into slothdom. I’ll veg in front of the TV watching back-logged episodes of The Blacklist or Castle or Switched at Birth. With copious amounts of dark chocolate raisins, Cheez-its and Kool-aide, (cherry flavor preferred).

I’m sure there’s a scientific or psychological explanation for this sudden table flip. I just call it my Saturation Point and it reigns my existence. I’m not allowed to read without irritation or write without tearing out page after page of drivel. Even my trusty playlists are left dormant for weeks while my brain heals itself from the ravaging that writing Novels puts it through. And it truly IS a healing period. Inspiration slowly trickles back into my reserves as Raymond Reddington masterfully manipulates the world to suit his purposes. Desire sweeps through me again while Bay and Daphne slog through their teenage woes. Humor and creativity take the helm again while Castle and Beckett chase the bad guys and steal a kiss in the shadows.

The point I’m trying to make I guess is that even artists take vacations. They may not be able to point to a date on the calendar and say, “THIS WEEK I’m going to chill and not pick up a pen/camera/needle/whatever”. Creativity just doesn’t work that way. Or maybe it does, for a few of you. I envy you. But when the brain is done, it’s done and that’s OKAY.

Just try to time the break comes after a project is done or you’ll be spanked karmically/professionally. I wrote briefly about that last week. It sucks :<

I’ve written a few times about this subject already and I apologize if it seems monotonous. I’m trying to document my quirks and trends here so that MAYBE I’ll stop starting all over again and make the changes I need to in order to be a better writer. And a better person.

Sometimes I think I must have short-term memory loss since I seem to forget what I’ve blogged about or said from day-to-day. I  have a folder with print outs of my blogs now so I don’t repeat myself endlessly. It’s about progress after all and trying to find what’s right for me.

So! Words. Damn them to Hell! Cheeky little buggers! Sing it Eliza:

“Sing me no song! Read me no rhyme!
Don’t waste my time, Show me!
Don’t talk of June, Don’t talk of fall!
Don’t talk at all! Show me!
Never do I ever want to hear another word.
There isn’t one I haven’t heard.”

😉 Love ya. Do good. And Happy New Year!!!! 

Author: Jessica Jordan

The adventures of one woman as she journeys to make it big in the Publishing World. With charming clumsiness she takes her first steps forward to travel this twisty-wisty world of blogging. Posts will be random, humorous, honest and emotional. She is never organized. Be warned!

Leave a Reply

